Min menu


When You've Seen How Candies Are Made, You'll Never Eat Them Again

When You've Seen How Candies Are Made, You'll Never Eat Them Again

We are fond of candies and especially children. In the form of crocodiles, cubs, stars, taste level, it's guaranteed pleasure and it's cheap! But as far as their manufacture is concerned, we are far from imagining what they really are made of.

What is gummy candy?
The jelly candies those whose texture resembles crocodile-type gum, tagada strawberries, smurfs or eggs and involve a manufacture of which some do not even imagine the reality.

In fact, in the vast majority of cases, these gummies are made from pork gelatin. An addition certainly not really dangerous for health but which is however not suitable for vegetarian or vegan diets, and neither halal nor kosher. Manufacturers use gelatin as a stabilizer and thickener. It can be of plant origin but in most cases it is that of animal origin that is used. Where manufacturers have removed the fat so that the products prepared are less caloric, they add water added with this agent to ensure a smooth texture pleasant.

Drugs, vaccines, cosmetics, these swarm with pork gelatin. The majority of food or cosmetic packaging clearly show the E428 or E441 codes, suggesting the presence of pork gelatin in 95% of the cases as an additive.

Belgian journalist and filmmaker Alina Kneepkens wanted to highlight the progress of the production of jelly candies through an edifying and abject short film that demonstrates the reverse process of making jelly candies.

What is gelatin?

Gelatin is a translucent substance made by the hydrolysis of collagen from the skin, bones or tendons of animals, including pork, beef and fish. After being mashed, these pieces of carcasses are boiled in hydrochloric acid according to an ancestral recipe and very strict rules of manufacture. The substance obtained is solid, transparent or slightly yellow, and has neither taste nor odor.

Alternative to pork gelatin
For those who do not even want to hear about pork gelatin, we can distinguish two categories of gelling agents; gelatin of animal origin and vegetable alternatives such as starch (E1401), agar-agar (E406), xanthan gum (E415), carrageenan (E407), guar gum (E412) or pectin. To be sure not to ingest gelatine of animal origin it is necessary to privilege the term "gélifiant" reserved for texturing of vegetable origin by the legislation.

In fact, pork gelatin is used in favor of beef and fish because of the spectrum of mad cow disease and the high production rate of that of fish. Moreover, according to the repression of fraud, French law does not require manufacturers to specify on the label the origin of gelatin.

Doctors are worried about abdominal pain and absorption disorders of pork gelatine when consumed in large quantities and that there are very few studies conducted on the subject such as advance, Dr. Laurent Chevallier, nutritionist and practitioner at the University Hospital of Montpellier.

Benefits of gelatin on health
However, in addition to its use to make candies or other cosmetics, collagen, proteins and amino acids contained in gelatin have significant health benefits. Gelatin is actively involved in bone strengthening and can help relieve bone and joint pain due to osteoarthritis.

Glycine, one of the amino acids present in large quantities in gelatin, acts effectively on the detoxification of the body, while stimulating the functioning of the liver. It also activates the production of growth hormone, which accelerates the burning of fat, and thus promotes weight loss. Gelatin compounds also lower cholesterol in the blood and triglycerides, while regulating blood sugar levels.
How Candies Are Made